Bienvenue dans le canton de Gençay, pays d’Histoire,
de loisirs et de détente…

In the middle of Romance Poitou can be found the hill of Fougery, dominating the  canton at 195 meters high. This area of 10 communes offers many good walks allowing you to discover the beautiful countryside.

Come and explore this région rich in history with its quiet countryside, its protected river banks, its inusual sites and gastronomy. There are plenty of activities for the more energetic and adventures to be found, for exemple it is possible to stay in tree to cabin in the ” Parc de la Belle” at Magné.

Close by the Park of Futuroscope at Jaunay-Clan, the Valley of Monkeys in Romagne, the tower of Charlemagne at Charroux and Roman paintings at  the Abbey of Saint-Savin, a world heritage site. Renforcing the attraction of our canton, a few hours by road, you can found Puy du Fou, the Marais Poitevin, Royan and the Atlantic.

Bienvenue dans le canton de Gençay, pays d’Histoire,
de loisirs et de détente…

Au cœur du Poitou Roman, la butte de Fougeré, point culminant du canton, domine de ses quelques 195 mètres ce territoire regroupant dix communes, lieu de promenade, de découverte et de séjour idéal à la campagne.

Son riche patrimoine classé, ses paysages calmes, ses bords de rivière protégés, ses sites insolites, sa gastronomie, vous invitent à explorer notre Pays et ses environs, à faire le plein d’énergie, à pratiquer des activités à la portée de tous, à vivre l’aventure dans les cabanes du Parc de la Belle à Magné.

A proximité, quelques destinations touristiques renommées, Le Parc du Futuroscope à Jaunay-Clan, La Vallée des Singes à Romagne, la Tour de Charlemagne à Charroux, les peintures romanes de l’Abbatiale de Saint-Savin, patrimoine mondial …. renforcent l’attrait de notre canton. A quelques heures de route, laissez-vous séduire par Le Puy du Fou, le Marais Poitevin, Royan et l’Atlantique.